MEET THE HAWA TEAM!

Board Members

Ahmee Vang, Chair
Mai Xiong, Treasurer
Pangnhia Xiong, Board Member
Mudah Htoo, Board Member
Maurice Thomas, Board Member

gray end page swirl

Staff


Tammie Xiong, Executive Director
Email: tammie@hawamke.org

 


See Moua, Directory of Advocacy
Email: see@hawamke.org

 


Amanda Yang, Sexual Assault Advocate
Email: amanda@hawamke.org

 


Pada Lo, Southeast Asian LGBTQ Advocate
Email: pada@hawamke.org

 


Cheraty Par, Southeast Asian Advocate
Email: cheraty@hawamke.org

 


Kim Khaira, Southeast Asian Advocate
Email: kim@hawamke.org

Kim joined the HAWA family as an advocate for Southeast Asian women facing domestic violence and sexual assault. In Malaysia, she has been working together with refugee leaders since 2011 starting with a multiethnic Myanmar refugee learning center, and most recently with the Penang Stop Human Trafficking Campaign striving for the empowerment and self-determination with/of Rohingya women and their communities. 
Growing up with a multiethnic and multifaith background and from her Bachelor’s in Political Science and minor in English Literature, her interest is in the concept of the ‘other’ and the real-life experiences of what it means for a refugee, or an immigrant like herself, to belong.

 


Lue Yang, Youth Advocate
Email: lue@hawamke.org

Lue  started working with HAWA in 2017. He advocates for youths and is a local activist. He provides support and advocacy for Southeast Asian youths. Lue works to mobilize and develop youth leaders. He also partner up with local middle schools and high schools, along with parents, administrators, academics, and colleges to tackle youth issues. Lue has a passion for social justice, preserving culture and cultural identity, and mobilizing culturally-specific communities to end violence in all of its forms.

 


Nia Phakeovilay, Family Support Advocate
Email: nia@hawamke.org

 


Shane Xiong, Administrative Support/ Family Resource Coordinator
Email: shane@hawamke.org

 

gray end page swirl

Advocating for social justice within the Hmong Community through collective actions